Ninie Ahmad: Off her yoga mat.

Her affirmations of staying optimistic especially when she's (upside) down.

I don’t need long yet damaged hair to accentuate my femininity and I don’t see my body as a graveyard for dead animals nor dumpsite for empty calorie.

with 12 comments

I am NOT the type of girl that asks this type of questions:

    • Which dress do I look better in?
    • Does my make-up look alright?
    • Should I buy that pair of shoes or this one?
    • Would a MINI or a 4-wheel-drive suit me best?

I know my taste, I understand my body type and I respect myself enough well to not let others decide on what looks and feels good for me.

So when I still do get “Why did you cut your hair? You look so much better with your hair long..” and “Why do you look so skinny now? You lost so much weight since I last saw you?”,

it offends me a lot as I will never be heard voicing out, “Why are you so negative? You always sound more so bitter everytime we meet. What unjustice has the world done to you that you only see ugliness and the worst in others?

I have wasted too much time, money and energy in painstakingly blowdry, highlight, colour, relax, perm, be put toxic chemicals onto my innocent hair that I earn my right to choose to let it recuperate and heal for the next couple of years.

Hair spiked up for Tatler shoot

Big earrings always complement short hair

I have always weighed 42 kg and been a US size 0 and UK size 6 for the past 10 years and I know my body better than you do. I amย  simply happy that I am strong enough to lift up my own body weight (and others), I don’t depend on unhealthy substance to enjoy life and that my body is not built of dead animals.

Lifting up Azmi in BE Yoga‘s Partner Yoga class every Saturday 4pm

Standing on my elbows for our Partner Yoga performance for Breast Cancer Awareness Karma Yoga

I am more than happy with my short hair and I know I am healthy with 13% body fat percentage. If you are not (happy with my hair and my body fat count, I mean), kindly exhale them now or hold your destructive comments to yourself forever.

I’m surrounded by liars everywhere I turn
I’m surrounded by impostors everywhere I turn
I’m surrounded by identity crisis everywhere I turn
I’m the only one who’s noticed
I can’t be the only one who’s learned

I don’t want to be anything other than what I’ve been trying to be lately
All I have to do is think of me and have peace of mind
I’m tired of looking ’round rooms wonder what I gotta do
Or who I’m supposed to be
I don’t want to be anything other than me

~ GAVIN DE GRAW (I Don’t Wannaย  Be, 2004)

Love, productive Monday and sweet November ahead.

Written by Ninie Ahmad

November 9, 2009 at 10:55 AM

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love this post k. ninie.
    we choose our own path our own way in living our life ๐Ÿ™‚

    nn

    November 9, 2009 at 12:53 PM

  2. i think you are looking more and more beautiful with your short hair. Stay healthy and enjoy life as you are!

    Namaste,

    Karin

    yoga and wellness

    November 9, 2009 at 1:07 PM

  3. Nine,
    I have seen u in person and I think you look great!

    Hugs.

    Zuraida

    November 9, 2009 at 1:31 PM

  4. i always love your strong personality.Keep it up!

    Raquel

    November 9, 2009 at 5:56 PM

  5. i envy you!
    how i wish i wud have the time to do yoga and stuff and take control of my own body..
    =(

    have a blast!!
    =))

    farra

    November 9, 2009 at 6:31 PM

  6. just three words –

    you are beautiful!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    misa

    November 9, 2009 at 10:50 PM

  7. for this, I admire you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kat

    November 10, 2009 at 9:34 AM

  8. pish posh! long hair/short hair, 42kg/52kg … doesn’t matter … to me, you’re always Ninie, the friendly & bubbly girl I 1st spoke to when I came for my free trial by the poolside. u’re healthy & beautiful both inside & outside =)

    P/S:- one day I shall make it for ur Vinyasa!!

    Renee

    November 10, 2009 at 11:33 AM

  9. good on ya
    negativity and put downs come easy to ppl it seems.
    if only we are more self aware and can learn to let go, love and be happy. world would surely be a better place.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jen

    November 10, 2009 at 11:52 AM

  10. You look great Ninie!

    Teja

    November 10, 2009 at 4:36 PM

  11. Been your silent reader for the longest time and always have been your supporter (even if I don’t YOGA ๐Ÿ˜‰ You look nice with short hair. People who says that are not happy with themselves. Stay you.

    spena15

    November 13, 2009 at 10:10 PM

  12. i love this entry….short hair takes confidence and alot of spunk and personality to pull off.

    after 10 years of short hair i grew it out long for 3 years….i feel myself again after chopped it all off…..and it has cut my ‘getting ready time’

    when i first cut all my hair off…it was quite liberating ๐Ÿ˜€

    Melor Hidayah

    December 26, 2009 at 3:42 PM


Leave a Reply

