Ninie Ahmad: Off her yoga mat.

Her affirmations of staying optimistic especially when she's (upside) down.

I dare to dream reaching for the stars, for the sky is not my limit.

with 2 comments

When I was approached to choreograph and pose yoga in designer gowns and diamond timewears for Malaysia’s most prestigious magazine and be told, “We are going to do it something like this VOGUE cover of Christy Turlington but with an edge”,

VOGUE 0ct 2002
I remembered trying not to faint before saying, “OF COURSE, OF COURSE, OF COURSE!”

After discussing the concept and art direction, they explained their idea of experimenting yoga poses and neon-coloured powders.

We executed the test make-up on Saturday and wow, if my tiny IXUS can already capture these, I can’t imagine how would the end result be with Malaysia’s most wanted  professional photographer and make-up artist complete with mani and pedi team, not to mention – the evening gowns I have never even dreamed to don let alone be photographed to death in!

Make-up Test 1

Make-up test 3

Make-up test 5

(Sportsbra: adishe Techfit from adidas)

Looking back at this set of photos and more pages inside VOGUE October 2002, it occured to me that this exact photoshoot was on my wishlist earlier this year! (READ THIS ENTRY)

Don’t be afraid to scream our dream.

Our act of repeating it out loud is an affirmation of materializing the dream. Our wish and prayers are our mind and body’s way of attracting and believing. If it’s really our calling, the universe does have it’s way in turning our dream alive.

My dream photoshoot will commence in the first week of September and be published in December (which magazine you’re asking? Surprise! Feel free to have a wild guess though!) so for the time being, I’ll just make sure I won’t lose more weight during this fasting month, to triple that Chaturanga and to repeat watching lotsa America’s Next Top Model – again!

I know it is going to be an interesting week ahead. Visualize yang indah-indah saja (all things beautiful), start this week how WE want it to be and I am sure all of you will have an amazing week too!

Love and light.

Written by Ninie Ahmad

August 24, 2009 at 9:41 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cant wait to see you grazing be it the cover or the insides of the mag!

    Nell

    August 25, 2009 at 4:01 PM

  2. […] a comment » In anticipation of the 8-pages-spread yoga in haute couture photoshoot next […]


Leave a Reply

